Torres Strait Island Seawalls

With the successful completion of the Saibai Island seawall my focus has now shifted to the other Torres Strait islands.

They include Boigu, Iama, Warraber, Masig and Poruma Islands.

The construction of seawalls on these islands will dramatically improve the liveability and most importantly the safety for the local residents.

The Boigu Island project needs to be done in isolation, while the constriction of seawalls on the central islands can be achieved using the same technology that is current used on Cocos Island.

Preliminary work on the central islands projects has already started.

This work is being overseen by the Torres Strait Island Regional Council and My Pathways.

I am looking forward to seeing these important projected being completed.